Job Opportunity// In-Country/In-Region Scholarship Program Kenya

Program Objectives:

The program aims at fostering strong, internationally oriented higher education systems in Sub Saharan Africa with the capacity to contribute to sustainable development. To this end, scholarships are granted for development-related Master or doctoral studies for individuals who plan to pursue a career in teaching and/or research at a higher education institution in Sub-Saharan Africa.

By training future academic and professional leaders, the program contributes to the following long-term impacts:

Qualified professionals’ involvement in the solution of development-related problems in Sub-Saharan Africa.

  • Graduates strengthening education and research in Sub-Saharan Africa.
  • Structural strengthening and regional networking of partner institutions and partner universities.
  • To achieve these long-term impacts, the following outcomes have been formulated as programme objectives:
  • Programme objective 1: Graduates have qualified to take over responsible positions in or for their region of origin
  • Programme objective 2: The participation of women and underprivileged groups is reinforced
  • Programme objective 3: Organizational, financial and personal capacities of partner institutions are strengthened

As part of the „In-Country/In-Region Scholarship Programme“, DAAD offers scholarships for PhD studies. The programme is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) and aims at university staff in the first line, without neglecting the public sector demand of academically trained personnel.

The target group for scholarships are graduates and postgraduates from SubSaharan Africa with a Master’s if applying for a doctoral programme who want to pursue PhD courses, either in their home country (In-Country scholarships are aimed at students who study in their home
country or in the country for which they have a residence permit.)

or –

in another Sub-Sahara African country (In-Region scholarships are aimed at students who want to participate in study programme in a country of their home region (here: Sub-Sahara Africa/outside their home country).

It has been agreed upon that DAAD cooperates with AERC by offering up to 6 In-Country/In-Region Scholarships for PhD studies at AERC for the intake 2022. The awarding of scholarships will be subject to the provision of funds.

Application Requirements:

Applicants must meet the following DAAD criteria:

  • have successfully completed generally a two-year university degree (doctoral candidates) with above average results (at least: Second Class/Upper Division or equivalent, if applicable)
  • clearly show motivation and strong commitment
  • have thorough knowledge of the language of instruction
  • have generally completed their last university degree not more than 6 years ago at the time of application
  • must be nationals or permanent residents of a Sub-Sahara African country
  • should generally be a) staff member of a public university, b) candidate considered for teaching or research staff recruitment, c) from the public sector and/or d) Alumni of the DAFI-programme

Female applicants, refugees with recognized refugee status and candidates from other less privileged regions or groups are especially encouraged to participate in the programme.

Scholarships are initially granted for one year and can be extended to a maximum of the regular period of study upon receipt of an application for extension. Scholars must demonstrate satisfactory progress before an extension is granted.

Please note: AERC might have additional requirements for admission to the university.

Eligible fields:

The In-Country/In-Region Scholarship Programme supports studies in subject areas with strong relevance to national development.

The scholarships at AERC are available in the following field:

• PhD in Agriculture Economics

Place of tenure:

AERC Member Universities in Eastern Africa: Makerere University (Uganda), Sokoine University of Agricultural Sciences (Tanzania), Egerton University & University of Nairobi (Kenya), Haramaya University (Ethiopia)

Duration and Commencement:

The duration of the PhD programme is generally three years and is usually starting in September or October, depending on the member university.

Please note that the maximum duration of the scholarship is based on the time that is left until the scholarship holder has reached the regular period of studies in that programme; i.e., if you apply for a DAAD scholarship starting in your second year of studies of a three-year programme, the maximum duration of the scholarship will be two years.

Application deadline is 15, October 2021.

To find about application and selection procedure , click here.